Monterey County Film Commission Elects New Board Officers

Posted on July 20th, 2020 by MCFC

The Monterey County Film Commission board of directors has elected officers for the 2020-21 fiscal year. Gary Bolen will serve as president, with Cheryl Savage as vice president, Julia Avery-Shapiro as secretary, and Sandi Austin, treasurer. Former board president Garland Thompson will serve as the board chairperson.

Bolen, a SAG actor and the retired chair of the Monterey Peninsula College Theater Department, has been a board member for more than three years, and previously served as vice president. He lives in Oak Hills in north Monterey County.

The film commission, which has an office in New Monterey's Lighthouse District, works to boost the economy throughout Monterey County by attracting and assisting on-location film production, handling inquiries and making referrals to crew and local goods and services. Each year an average of $4 million in revenue comes to local communities from more than 100 productions filming throughout the county.

The board is seeking additional volunteer board members with nonprofit or business experience from all parts of Monterey County, especially the Salinas Valley area. For more information, visit our website or call 831-646-0910.

More Info

Comment with Facebook